The Grierson Trust announces the final nominations for Grierson 2014: The 42nd British Documentary Awards in association with Sky Atlantic and Shell

London, Tuesday 16th September: The Grierson Trust announces the final nominations for Grierson 2014: The 42nd British Documentary Awards in association with Sky Atlantic and Shell. Forty-eight films – which tackle subjects from the Syrian civil war and the hunt for sex gangs in Britain, to the music of David Bowie and a musical gay nuptials – face the ultimate factual faceoff. The winners will be announced in a star-studded ceremony on Monday 3rd November.

The Full list of nominations 2014

Considered as the Oscars of the documentary world and in now in their 42nd year, The Grierson Awards celebrate the best in documentary film-making. Winning a Grierson carries prestige and allure for factual film-makers from across the globe. This year's nominations include some of the most talked about television of last year – including Channel 4 hits Gogglebox and Educating Yorkshire - as well as some less well known gems. A wide spread of broadcasters is represented with films from the BBC, ITV, Channel 4, Sky Atlantic and Al Jazeera all reaching the final nominations. While four of the nation's most prominent presenters are in the mix for the Documentary Presenter of the Year award featuring Stephen Fry, Rupert Everett, Arthur Williams and Michael Mosley.

Chairman of The Grierson Trust, Lorraine Heggessey says "The mix, variety and passion demonstrated in this year's nominations is breathtaking. These films represent the cream of factual film-making from around the world. There are films from industry luminaries alongside students just setting out on their film-making careers. I look forward to congratulating the winners on 3rd November."

Each judging panel is made up of a mix of industry experts, film-makers, channel commissioners, genre experts and well known faces from across cinema and television. Amongst the 72 members of the Award panels, this year's jurors include presenters Sue Perkins, Jamie Theakston and Ross Kemp; genre specialists Laverne Antrobus, Professor Steve Jones and Bettany Hughes; journalists Kay Burley, Kate Spicer, David Butcher, Melanie McFadyean and Matt McAllester ; actor Colin Salmon; artist Rachel Whiteread; and, footballer Clarke Carlisle; as well as former Grierson winners and nominees Sacha Mirzoeff, Brian Woods, Norma Percy, Kim Longinotto, Brian Hill and David Clews.

The 12 categories are: Best Documentary on a Contemporary Theme – Domestic, Shell Best Documentary on a Contemporary Theme – International, The Open University Best Documentary on Current Affairs, ITN Source Best Arts Documentary, ITN Source Best Historical Documentary, Satusfaction Best Science or Natural History Documentary, Nyman Libson Paul Best Entertaining Documentary, Envy Best Documentary Series, Bertha DocHouse Best Cinema Documentary, CTVC Best Newcomer Documentary, Sky Atlantic Best Student Documentary and Stockroom Archive Management Documentary Presenter of the Year.

Productions nominated for this year's awards include: Pussy Riot: A Punk Prayer, which is featured on both Shell Best Documentary on a Contemporary Theme – International, and the Bertha DocHouse Best Cinema Documentary lists; Dispatches: Children on the Frontline, David Bowie – Five Years, and, imagine…Vivian Maier: Who Took Nanny's Pictures by previous Grierson Award winner Jill Nicholls.

The Full list of nominations 2014

Published: 16 September 2014

  • Newsletter Subscribe

  • Please select all the ways you would like to hear from The Grierson Trust:

    You can unsubscribe at any time by clicking the link in the footer of our emails. For information about our privacy practices, please visit our website.

    We use Mailchimp as our marketing platform. By clicking below to subscribe, you acknowledge that your information will be transferred to Mailchimp for processing. Learn more about Mailchimp's privacy practices here.

Like us

© 2019 The Grierson Trust. All rights reserved.