The Grierson Trust completes its new Board Line-up

London 6th June 2014: The Grierson Trust welcomes two new Trustees, wrapping up the latest round of appointments to its Board. Following the departure of several members whose duration of tenure has come to an end, the Trust is now joined by Briony Hanson and Tom McDonald.

Chairman of the Board, Lorraine Heggessey says, "I'm delighted to welcome Briony and Tom as the two newest members who complete The Grierson Trust Board. The Grierson Trust insists on working with the crème de la crème of the documentary world and we will benefit enormously from Briony and Tom's wealth of experience, insight and passion for the documentary genre. Together they will help drive The Grierson Trust's ever expanding role in championing documentary filmmaking and ensuring its future through the Trust's education and mentoring work."

Briony Hanson is The British Council's Director of Film, responsible for promoting UK films and filmmakers internationally. Previously she has been Director of The Script Factory; Director of Tyneside Cinema; headed the BFI Programme Unit and co-programmed the BFI London Lesbian & Gay Film Festival. She has conducted numerous onstage interviews from Julianne Moore and Gus Van Sant to Dustin Hoffman and Andrej Wajda. She makes occasional broadcast appearances and is a regular film critic for BBC Radio 4's Front Row, co-edited the 2008 Filmmakers' Yearbook, and was DIVA Magazine's Film Editor from 2007-12.

Tom McDonald is currently Acting Head of Science and Natural History for the BBC having been Commissioning Editor for Documentaries, Science and Natural History since 2012. Recent commissions include for BBC One Nick & Margaret: We All Pay Your Benefits; for BBC Two An Hour To Save Your Life and for BBC Four Hidden Histories: Britain's Oldest Family Businesses. Previously he was an Executive Producer on 24 Hours In A&E (Channel 4); Who Do You Think You Are? (BBC One) and science experiment The Young Ones (BBC One).

They join Terry Back, Judith Chan, Jo Clinton-Davis, Alex Cooke, Emma Cooper, David DeHaney, Liesel Evans, Chris Harris, Emma Hindley, Christopher Hird, Morgan Matthews, Sanjay Singhal, Celia Taylor and Andy Whittaker.

The Grierson Trust, which was first established in 1972 as the Grierson Memorial Trust upon the death of Scottish film-maker John Grierson, promotes and celebrates documentary film and television production through supporting screenings, workshops and mentoring schemes, and recognises the best of documentary-making through its annual Grierson British Documentary Awards. More information about the Trustees and the work of the Grierson Trust can be found at

Published: 6 June 2014

  • Newsletter Subscribe

  • Please select all the ways you would like to hear from The Grierson Trust:

    You can unsubscribe at any time by clicking the link in the footer of our emails. For information about our privacy practices, please visit our website.

    We use Mailchimp as our marketing platform. By clicking below to subscribe, you acknowledge that your information will be transferred to Mailchimp for processing. Learn more about Mailchimp's privacy practices here.

Like us

© 2019 The Grierson Trust. All rights reserved.