The Grierson Trust is proud to announce the appointment of three new Patrons, each of them world class and award-winning documentary professionals at the heart of the industry.

The Grierson Trust is proud to announce the appointment of three new Patrons, each of them world class and award-winning documentary professionals at the heart of the industry.

Former Trustees Christopher Hird and Charlotte Moore will continue to advise and support the Board in their new capacity and Grayson Perry CBE – Turner Prize winning artist turned Grierson and Grierson-winning documentary creator – will join them.

Chairman of the Board, Lorraine Heggessey said: “I speak for the whole Board of Trustees when I say how truly delighted we are to have Christo, Charlotte and Grayson continue their support of The Grierson Trust by becoming Patrons. Over the years they have all played an important role in both the development of the British Documentary Awards and the Trust’s education and mentoring projects. I’m delighted that we will be able to continue to harness their vast knowledge, passion and expertise – all invaluable assets to the Trust.”

Christopher Hird: Founder and MD of Dartmouth Films, Christopher Hird is a leading figure in UK independent documentary making. He is a former chair of the Sheffield International Documentary Foundation and was the founding chair of Channel Four’s BRITDOC Foundation. A former Trustee of The Grierson Trust, Christopher started his career as a stockbroker, later moving into journalism. He became a reporter for Channel Four’s current affairs programme before co-founding Fulcrum TV. He started Dartmouth in 2008 to pioneer new ways of funding and distributing documentaries and to support new filmmakers. In 2013-14 he was managing editor of the Bureau of Investigative Journalism, of which he remains a Trustee and is also a Trustee of One World Media, the Wincott Foundation and the Centre for Investigative Journalism. Dartmouth’s credits include Still The Enemy Within (2014), John Pilger’s Utopia (2013), Fire in the Blood (2012) and The Battle for Barking (2010).

Charlotte Moore: Charlotte Moore is currently the Controller of BBC One. Formally the BBC's Commissioning Editor for Documentaries, she was responsible for award winning programmes Between Life and Death, 7/7 One Day in London, Protecting Our Children, Welcome to Lagos, Terry Pratchett's Choosing to Die and popular hits The Great British Bake Off, The Choir and Inside Claridges. As a producer/director her credits include Lagos Airport, Great Britons: Churchill and Living With Cancer and as Head of Documentaries at IWCMedia Stephen Fry's Secret Life Of The Manic Depressive and Eighteen With A Bullet.

Grayson Perry, CBE: Grayson Perry started his career as a controversial "transvestite potter". He has since become a Turner Prize winning artist, BAFTA- and Grierson-winning documentary maker, author, curator and social commentator. His work is exhibited in the UK and around the world, including at the British Museum with The Tomb of the Unknown Craftsman and The Vanity of Small Differences, a show of tapestries to accompany his Channel 4 series All in the Best Possible Taste and the National Portrait Gallery which is home to works created as part of Channel 4’s Who Are You?. He was made a member of the Royal Academy in 2011.

They join an illustrious list of Patrons who offer their expertise and guidance to the Trust including Sir David Attenborough, Nick Broomfield, Roger Graef OBE, Kim Longinotto and Norma Percy.

Published: 24 March 2015

  • Newsletter Subscribe

  • Please select all the ways you would like to hear from The Grierson Trust:

    You can unsubscribe at any time by clicking the link in the footer of our emails. For information about our privacy practices, please visit our website.

    We use Mailchimp as our marketing platform. By clicking below to subscribe, you acknowledge that your information will be transferred to Mailchimp for processing. Learn more about Mailchimp's privacy practices here.

Like us

© 2019 The Grierson Trust. All rights reserved.