The Grierson Trust announces the 2019 British Documentary Award categories

Entries are now invited for the 2019 Grierson British Documentary Awards. The prestigious annual Grierson awards feature 14 categories in total. The closing date for entries is 31 May 2019.

Lorraine Heggessey, Chairman of The Grierson Trust says, "The annual Grierson Awards celebrate excellence in every documentary genre and they remain the most coveted prizes for documentary filmmakers.

"I would actively encourage broadcasters and production companies to enter films with BAME and female talent both on and off screen. As an industry body we would like to see a much wider variety of filmmakers entered into the awards so please spread the word that the Griersons are open to everyone."

All entries must have had their first UK screening between 1 June 2018 and 31 May 2019. This includes scheduled screenings within recognised film, television and documentary festivals. Entries are accepted for both analogue and digital platforms – such as Netflix, iPlayer, Amazon – as long as the screening was accessible by a UK-based audience.

The Grierson Awards Ceremony will take place on the evening of Thursday, 14 November 2019 at Queen Elizabeth Hall, Southbank, London.

Click here for category criteria, t&cs and the entry form.

Published: 1 April 2019

  • Newsletter Subscribe

  • Please select all the ways you would like to hear from The Grierson Trust:

    You can unsubscribe at any time by clicking the link in the footer of our emails. For information about our privacy practices, please visit our website.

    We use Mailchimp as our marketing platform. By clicking below to subscribe, you acknowledge that your information will be transferred to Mailchimp for processing. Learn more about Mailchimp's privacy practices here.

Like us

© 2022 The Grierson Trust. All rights reserved.