Donna Taberer, Fatima Salaria and Poppy Dixon join The Board of Trustees

Donna Taberer, Fatima Salaria and Poppy Dixon join The Board of Trustees

The Grierson Trust welcomes three new Trustees to its Board: BBC Content Head of Talent, Donna Taberer; Managing Director of Naked Television, Fatima Salaria; and, Sky UK's Director, Documentaries and Factual, Poppy Dixon.

Chair of the Board, Lorraine Heggessey says, “I’m delighted to welcome Donna, Fatima and Poppy to The Grierson Trust Board. Each of them has already made a significant impact in the world of documentary programming as well as showing a demonstrable commitment to advancing diversity. Their wide-ranging skills and experience will be invaluable to the Trust, particularly as we are about to expand our Grierson DocLab training programmes, providing a route into the industry that many find impenetrable, especially those from diverse backgrounds."

After 35 years in TV production, management and commissioning, Donna Taberer now focuses on supporting the careers of others. She is Head of Talent at BBC Content where she heads up the Commissioner Development Programme and BBC Elevate for mid-career disabled talent as well as other diversity interventions. She is also Director of the prestigious ScreenSkills Series Producer Programme.

In September 2020, Fatima Salaria joined Naked Television, whose programming slate stretches the gamut from hit entertainment franchises, enduring popular features and factual entertainment series to high-end factual and specialist factual programmes. Fatima joined from Channel 4, where, as Head of Specialist Factual, she was responsible for History, Science, Natural History, Arts and Adventure.

Poppy Dixon is Director, Documentaries and Factual for Sky UK, responsible for commissioning premium, original features and multi-part series for Sky’s three recently launched factual channels; Sky Documentaries, Sky Crime and Sky Nature. Previously, she was a producer of documentary and television, including the BAFTA-winning The Imposter, Grierson-nominated Untouchable and BIFA-winning American Animals.

They join fellow Trustees Ben Anthony, Simon Chinn, Guy Davies, Amy Flanagan, Danny Horan, Marjorie Kaplan, James Quinn, Rob Stapledon and Kate Townsend.

Stepping down from the Board are Liz Brion, Jo Clinton-Davis, David DeHaney, Liesel Evans, Tom McDonald, Sanjay Singhal and Andy Whittaker who have all reached the end of their term of service.

Lorraine Heggessey says, “I would like to thank all the Trustees who are stepping down for so generously giving their time and expertise to the work of The Grierson Trust. We are lucky to have had people of such high calibre on our board. As a small charity we rely on the dedication of volunteers to help us promote excellence through our annual awards and to run the Grierson DocLab training scheme that supports young people as they enter the documentary world.”

See the full list of the Board of Trustees

Published: 4 December 2020

  • Newsletter Subscribe

  • Please select all the ways you would like to hear from The Grierson Trust:

    You can unsubscribe at any time by clicking the link in the footer of our emails. For information about our privacy practices, please visit our website.

    We use Mailchimp as our marketing platform. By clicking below to subscribe, you acknowledge that your information will be transferred to Mailchimp for processing. Learn more about Mailchimp's privacy practices here.

© 2022 The Grierson Trust. All rights reserved.