The winners across 18 categories for the 50th Grierson Awards

The winners across 18 categories for the 50th Grierson Awards
Grierson 2022: The British Documentary Awards, in association with All3Media with hosts Rosie Jones and AJ Odudu. Photo credit Hello Content: Caitlin Mogridge

Tonight, the winners of the 50th annual British Documentary Awards were announced in a star-studded ceremony at London’s Queen Elizabeth Hall hosted by Rosie Jones and AJ Odudu.

Films about subjects as diverse as autism, slavery, womens’ rights, the Arctic Drift and controversial rapper Kanye West scooped up the honours*. There were also two special awards: legendary documentary-maker, the late Roger Graef OBE, was named BBC Grierson Trustees’ Award winner; and founder of industry support group We Are Doc Women, Clare Richards, won The Talent Manager Grierson Hero of the Year Award. The 2022 Griersons were presented in conjunction with headline sponsors All3Media.

The winners were spread between six broadcasters with the BBC taking five awards, Netflix won three, ITV and Channel 4 each took two and Apple TV+ and Disney+ picking up one apiece. The Best Student Documentary award went to a graduate from the University of Manchester. 

Lorraine Heggessey, Chair of The Grierson Trust said: “It’s extraordinary to think that the Griersons are now in their 50th year of recognising and rewarding the brilliance of documentaries and the talented people who bring them to our screens. There could be no better way of celebrating our golden anniversary than by showcasing the incredible story-telling and innovative craftmanship of this year’s winners.”

Stars and personalities from across TV and public life took part including: TV and radio presenter and Grierson award-winner Yinka Bokinni; wildlife filmmaker Dan O’Neill; Paralympian and Strictly sensation Ellie Simmonds with dancer Nikita Kuzmin; Apprentice star and business guru Tim Campbell; current affairs presenter and psychologist Dr Sian Williams; TV and radio presenter Katie Puckrik; Radio One DJ Vick Hope; ITV News’ Antoine Allen and Lucrezia Millarini; Newscaster and political correspondent Adam Fleming; documentary filmmakers Asif Kapadia and Louis Theroux; broadcaster and historian Bettany Hughes; Radio 2 and Strictly star Richie Anderson; comedian and scientist Ella Al-Shamahi; and, Channel 4 News presenter Fatima Manji.

See the full list of winners


*The British Documentary Awards celebrate the best in documentary filmmaking, recognising the directors and the creative teams behind some of the world’s most influential and talked about factual films. On Thursday 10th November, filmmakers Coodie Simmons and Chike Ozah were recognised for their 20 years of dedication and skill in creating and directing their series Jeen-Yuhs.

The jury meetings for the 2022 awards took place earlier in the autumn before the most recent controversies and Kanye’s anti-Semitic comments. These awards are in no way for Kayne himself. The Grierson Trust is clear that his anti-Semitic abuse is abhorrent, and we stand against racism in all its forms.

About the Grierson Awards

The Griersons celebrate the best in documentary filmmaking carrying prestige and allure for factual filmmakers from across the globe. The 50th annual awards ceremony was held at the Queen Elizabeth Hall, Southbank in London on Thursday, 10 November 2022 and is available to watch on YouTube.

Watch the ceremony on YouTube

Download the ceremony programme

Published: 9 November 2022

  • Newsletter Subscribe

  • Please select all the ways you would like to hear from The Grierson Trust:

    You can unsubscribe at any time by clicking the link in the footer of our emails. For information about our privacy practices, please visit our website.

    We use Mailchimp as our marketing platform. By clicking below to subscribe, you acknowledge that your information will be transferred to Mailchimp for processing. Learn more about Mailchimp's privacy practices here.

© 2022 The Grierson Trust. All rights reserved.