About the Grierson Awards

The Grierson Awards, also known at the British Documentary Awards, commemorate the pioneering Scottish documentary filmmaker John Grierson (1898 – 1972), famous for Drifters and Night Mail and the man widely regarded as the father of the documentary.

Established in 1972, the Griersons are the biggest event in the UK documentary calendar. The awards recognise and celebrate documentaries from Britain and abroad that have made a significant contribution to the genre and that demonstrate quality, integrity, creativity, originality and overall excellence.

2021 Grierson Awards

The 2021 Grierson Awards dates have been confirmed. More information will be published when entries open on Thursday, 1 April 2021.

2020 Grierson Awards

The 2020 Grierson Awards, brought to you in association with All3Media and hosted by Sara Pascoe, were broadcast on YouTube in partnership with Little Dot Studios on Thursday, 12 November 2020.

Watch the awards ceremony in full | Download the official programme

Awards Trophies

Duplicates of the Grierson Award trophy may be purchased by winning programme makers and broadcasters at £250 each (+ VAT and P&P); duplicates of certificates for winning and nominated films may be purchased at £30 each (+ VAT). Download an order form.

  • Newsletter Subscribe

  • Please select all the ways you would like to hear from The Grierson Trust:

    You can unsubscribe at any time by clicking the link in the footer of our emails. For information about our privacy practices, please visit our website.

    We use Mailchimp as our marketing platform. By clicking below to subscribe, you acknowledge that your information will be transferred to Mailchimp for processing. Learn more about Mailchimp's privacy practices here.

Like us

© 2020 The Grierson Trust. All rights reserved.